Why Should I Care About HorrorHounds New Book?

Halftone Horrors Book Celebrates Cinematic Comic Books

DISCLAIMER: Some of the links below are affiliate links. If you buy something from a Soda and Telepaths link, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This is used to help maintain the site and create more content for you!

HorrorHound Ltd. (known publicly as HorrorHound Magazine) has announced and since launched Halftone Horrors: The History of Horror Movie Comic Books. This exhaustive tome will explore the history of cinematic comic book adaptations and is also HorrorHound’s first fully realised book release in the company’s 15-year history.

In true HorrorHound fashion, the end-result will be the most immersive and comprehensive guide ever published on the subject. In preparation for Halftone Horrors’ release, HorrorHound has decided to take the project to Kickstarter in hopes of developing the necessary start-up funds to launch this elaborate full-color hardcover into reality!

Get the new Aliens comic book series!

Why Should I Care?

Halftone Horrors: The History of Horror Movie Comic Books will be a 240-page full-colour hardbound book telling the history of officially licensed comic book adaptations of every hit, cult, and obscure horror movie to receive attention within the comic book industry. This comprehensive book includes companies from the early days of the industry – like Dell, Gold Key, and Charlton Comics Group – to the indie boom of the 1990s (Adventure Comics, Epic, Innovation) – and ending on the modern-day comic giants (Dynamite Entertainment, Boom!, IDW Publishing). This “guide” covers everything from Nosferatu, Frankenstein, and Night of the Living Dead to A Nightmare on Elm Street to Hellraiser and Army of Darkness.

Halftone Horrors will also dig deep to uncover comics most horror fans may not have known to exist (Freaks, Love at First Bite, Burial of the Rats, Duel, White Zombie). The book will include a visual guide to the medium by presenting a history and guide for every issue published – including variants, one-shots, promotional comics, ashcans, and more.

The official Kickstarter Campaign for Halftone Horrors is now LIVE and is set to run for 30 days. Retail for the book is set at $35 (plus shipping) and includes a wide assortment of add-on items to bolster campaign funds and provide HorrorHound, and horror comics fans, some fun incentives for helping fund this project.

Why Should I Care About HorrorHounds New Book?

Editor Nathan Hanneman gave us the following exclusive statement:

It’s been 15 years since I wrote my last book – as I have been busy focusing on my editorial and writing duties with HorrorHound Magazine. I have been threatening to write another book this whole time, but the moment the world was shut down due to COVID, I realized I better get myself in gear and produce! No more excuses!

Halftone Horrors: The History of Horror Comic Books was the best choice for that first big step. I don’t know why, but I am so drawn to collector guides and history books. I am a huge fan of collecting. I have been collecting toys, comics, trading cards, movies – you name it – since I was able to afford to buy my own stuff. So the idea of doing a book about the history of something so specific as officially licensed horror movie comic books? It’s so camp. It’s so fun. It screams “Buy Me” … at least it screams to me.

My hope is that it grabs enough people’s attention to actualize the Kickstarter campaign and get the funding required to make the book a reality. To have a guide that not only tells the history of these amazing comics – but the history behind the companies who made them a reality? To have a comprehensive guide to the comics of A Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Hatchet, Army of Darkness, Dracula, Nosferatu, The Thing, The Toxic Avenger, Hellraiser, Nightbreed, The Lost Boys, Halloween, Night of the Living Dead … it seems endless.

And I am a research junkie. I am making this guide as exhaustive as humanly possible. I am just excited to finish the project and see how people react to all the cool comics and covers we were able to dig up. I thank anyone for supporting the project and proving that there are other horror nerds out there as interested in this subject as I am. 

Fans of Horror Films and Comic Books will find something they’ll enjoy in Halftone Horrors. As part of the Kickstarter launch, an early bird discount will apply to the first 100 backers who pre-order the book.

Other Kickstarter Tiers include:

  • Stickers
  • Pins
  • T-shirts
  • Digital copies of the book P
  • Subscriptions to HorrorHound Magazine 

As if all the incentives and pledge level details weren’t enough – the Official Kickstarter for Halftone Horrors also includes a HUGE new product that HorrorHound fans have been begging for – the first official comic book release of HorrorHound Publishing!

This long-demanded comic will star the HorrorHound mascot character that has adorned thousands of T-shirts (and even received his own action figure). The one-shot comic will be based on story elements created by Jeff Rebner, Aaron Crowell, Jeremy Sheldon, and Nathan Hanneman. Fans will have the opportunity to purchase limited-edition covers, sketch covers, and even a chance to be drawn into the comic itself.

Head to this LINK for more information.


Want more Soda and Telepaths?


RELATED ARTICLES:
New Season of Eli Roth’s History of Horror Podcast
The Reaper’s Choice are updated weekly! Check it out to see the new batch of art saved from the graveyard.
Spiral (2019) – Horror Movie Review